

KASK 32nd Annual General Meeting Minutes

DATE: 4 April 2024 **TIME:** 7:30 pm NZDST

ITEM ACTION POINTS	WHOM / WHEN
--------------------	-------------

11 L IVI	ACTION FORMTS WITOM 7	
1. Attendees & apologies	Present: Aaron Dixon, Allen Snowsill, Celia Wade-Brown, Chris Henshaw, Daniel O'Connor, David Welch, Dennis Hynes, Florian Kern, Garreth Keet, Ian McKenzie, Jay Howell, John Shaw, Jude Sanchez Jr., Kelvin Teixeira, Lucas Waterworth, Mark Aspinall, Peter Fuller, Robby Benson-Cooper, Robert Brown, Ruth E. Henderson, Steve Cooper, Steve Flack. Apologies from: Shaun Maclaren, Dallas Veitch, Steven Cooper (CHC), Glenda Ray, Garth Baker, Mark Austin, Robyn Laurie, Scott Dunavan Quorum: There were 22 people in attendance plus three proxy votes provided by Shaun Maclaren, Glenda Ray and Dallas Veitch. The meeting has a Quorum of 25 as required.	
2. Welcome and Introduction	Steve Cooper thanked everyone for taking the time to attend this AGM. Steve thanked the committee for it's continued support throughout the last year and particularly thanked all those involved in the KayakSafe series of workshops and video making sessions, they all made it a great success. A particular thanks to Karen Grant who is stepping down from the role of Administrator after sticking with KASK through all the various evolutions of late.	
3. Minutes of the 2023 AGM	The Minutes of the 2023 AGM (held a Hahei) have been available to members to view on the KASK website. There were no questions or corrections to the minutes offered at the meeting.	
4. Acceptance of the minutes of the 2023 AGM	Steve Cooper moved that the minutes be accepted, Robert Brown seconded that and they were accepted by the meeting.	
5. Update on Matters Arising from the Minutes of 2023 AGM	Dealt with via the Presidents report	
6. Reports	Presidents Report The President's report has been made available to members on the KASK website for review.	

	Moved to be accepted by Ian McKenzie, seconded by David Welch, accepted by the meeting.	
	Accounts to December 2023	
	The largest cost items in the accounts are: FEST, KayakSafe and the Website. Fest and KayakSafe costs and revenue span two years so 2022 financial statement is also included with the 2023 one on the website.	
	The website costs are primarily a one off set up cost and there is now a much smaller ongoing monthly hosting fee.	
	Moved to be Accepted by Steve Cooper, seconded by Allen Snowsill accepted by the meeting.	
	The existing committee all volunteered to take another term on the committee:	
7. Election of Committee Members	Stephen Cooper as President of the committee and Dallas Veitch, Caitlin Gillespie, Steve Flack, Ian McKenzie and Shaun Maclaren as members of the committee.	
and President	Steve Cooper proposed to accept the existing committee remain for an additional year, Garreth Keet Seconded and the meeting agreed.	
	Lucas Waterworth, Chris Henshaw and Mark Aspinall put themselves forward for election to the committee. Each person identified themselves to the meeting. Steve Cooper moved to accept their nominations, Celia Seconded and the meeting accepted.	
8. Any Matters Raised for the AGM	No matters have been raised for discussion at the meeting.	
9. Awards	Graham Egarr Memorial Paddle trophy for outstanding contribution to New Zealand Sea Kayaking.	
	This year the award is presented to Scott Dunavan. Scott has put himself on the edge of his comfort zone for the past couple of years in being a key organiser of the KayakSafe events in Dunedin helping rekindle KASK's reach into the Otago area as well as keeping the sea kayak section of the Otago canoe club going. Without Scott's efforts the Dunedin events could not have happened.	
	Graham Egarr Memorial Paddle trophy for outstanding contribution(s) to the KASK newsletter (now named New Zealand Sea Kayaker).	
	No stranger to the publication or the New Zealand Sea Kayaking scene the recipient of this award has worked tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure the magazine has had an interesting and complete contents list. KASK is pleased to recognise Paul Caffyn's contribution to the continued success of the New Zealand Sea Kayaker Magazine long after putting down his editor's pen.	
	"Bugger! of the Year" award.	
	No nominations had been received ahead of the meeting.	
	At the meeting it was proposed that John Gumbley be awarded the "Bugger of the Year" award for his following Aidan whilst on a Stewart Island trip and thereby destroying his fully loaded Beachcomber and wetting most of his gear due to not properly rolling his dry bags. Allen Snowsill will provide a paragraph describing the incident.	
10. Next Kayak Fest	Organising of Kayak Fest 2025 is well underway and registration is now open. Kayak Fest 2025 will be based at Tahunanui Holiday Park in Nelson from February 13 th to 16 th 2025.	

	Details on the KASK website https://kask.co.nz/kayakfest2025/ The following week will have IKW on D'Urville Island and a separate Kayak Week based at Maharau for Abel Tasman based trips All information for the D'Urville week is intended to be published by September.	
11. Any Questions from Attendees at the Meeting	No matters were raised from the floor for consideration by the Committee. Steve Cooper reminded people that any comments, questions or proposals for KASK are welcome at any time via a paddler rep, committee member or via the website.	
12. Close of Meeting	Meeting was Closed at 8:10pm	

Signed by

Steve Cooper, President and AGM Chair 5^{th} April 2024