

Kiwi Association of Sea Kayakers (NZ) Inc

31st Annual General Meeting

11 February 2022, 6.30 pm to 6.57pm Hahei Holiday Resort, 41 Harsant Ave Hahei

Meeting chair & minutes - lan McKenzie

1. Present

Present at the meeting:

lan McKenzie, Robert Brassey, Glenda Ray, Ian Ganderton, Paul Rutherford, Steve MacFarlane, Joy Mastiw, Shaun Maclaren, Ruth Henderson, Shelley Stuart, Robbie Benson-Cooper, Fiona Heenan, Liz Quarrie, Tracey Laga, Janet Purdey, Michelle Mainwaring, Jane Jacek, Diane Anderson, Aaron Dixon, Robert Hall, Jilliene Beale, Phil Beale, Dawn Williams, Keri French, Liz English, Stu Beckman, Celia Wade-Brown, Andrew Carman, Brett Gillies, Allen Snowsill, Steve Cooper (Auck), Martin Morris, Scott Dahlquist, Kristy Dahlquist, Amber Champion, Caoimhe Connor, Caitlin Gillespie, Jaime Sharp, Daniel O'Connor, Andy Harding, Caoimhin Ardren, Tom G, Florian Kern, Nick Butterfield, Simon Cowley, Mitch Kirk, Steve Hendrikson, Sandy Clark, Scott Dunavan, Mark Aspinall, Peter Fuller

2. Welcome

Ian McKenzie & President Steve Cooper welcomed attendees & thanked them for attending this AGM at Hahei

3. Minutes of the 2022 AGM

The Minutes of the 2022 AGM (held a Hahei) had been emailed to members to view. There were no questions or corrections to the minutes offered at the meeting. Shaun Maclaren moved, Ruth Henderson seconded that the minutes be accepted as an accurate record - they were accepted by the meeting.

4. Matters arising from the minutes of the 2022 AGM

It was accepted by the meeting that this agenda item would be dealt with by the President's report (next agenda item) which covers the year's activity & matters noted at the 2022 meeting minutes.

5. Reports

President (full report emailed to members and on the KASK web site) Summary:

FEST 2022 - was postponed due to Covid-19, re-activated now for 2023. Thank you to 2022 & 2023 FEST committees.

Thanks also to Ian McKenzie for standing in as interim president, previous president Shaun MacIaren and other committee members Daniel O'Connor, Caitlin Gillespie & Dallas Veitch and to administrator Karen Grant.

Membership – the automated system has been problematic and now back on track with a unified membership list, along with new website. Regional ambassadors also to be reinvigorated for the coming year, strengthening linkages with members.

External relationships - We continued as a voice for paddlers with our external partners in water safety, Water Safety NZ and New Zealand Safer Boating Forum.

Kayaksafe NZ - KASK was again successful in obtaining funding for our 'KayakSafe' programme. I would like to thank Dallas Veitch for coordinating successful delivery of the programme in 8 locations

New Zealand Sea Kayaker Magazine - Thankyou to the contributors. We could do with more please in the coming year. Thanks to Jacquie James for editing and Ruth Henderson for proof-reading.

National Standards: the working group has not maintained momentum but we do expect to continue to work on the guidelines this year for paddlers to be able to 'self-assess' their skills.

Moved: Shaun Maclaren, Seconded: Dawn Williams That the 2022 President's Annual Report be adopted – Accepted by the meeting

Ian McKenzie presented the financial statement

The financial statement for 2022 (prepared by Karen Grant) was emailed to all members prior to the AGM. As the end date is December, the balance is temporarily inflated in a FEST year until all the payments have been made. Kayaksafe is funded by Maritime NZ (rather than Water Safety NZ grant noted in the statement), again the figures span two part-years. There were no questions at the meeting about the financial statement

Steve Cooper moved, seconded Shaun Maclaren 'that the annual statement be accepted & forwarded to Register of Incorporated Societies' - accepted by the meeting

6. Election of committee members

Steve Cooper (Auckland), Ian McKenzie, Dallas Veitch, Caitlin Gillespie, Daniel O'Connor and Shaun Maclaren all put themselves forward for re-election as committee members & Steve Flack put himself forward for election to the committee.

The meeting was invited to identify any other committee candidates in case they had missed previous opportunities for nomination. None were received and so Ian proposed and Shaun seconded that those standing be elected - confirmed by the meeting

7. Graham Egarr Awards

Paddle Award (Outstanding Contribution to NZ Sea Kayaking)

Alan Snowsill – contribution to sea kayaking in his area and contribution to Kayaksafe programme. Endorsed by the meeting

Magazine Award (Outstanding Contributor)

Oliver Winkler - Endorsed by the meeting.

Paul Caffyn 'Bugger' (amusing/embarrassing incidents) Award - No suitable stories this year (again), so held over for next year

8. KASK Kayak Fest 2025

A South Island location, likely to be Nelson/Mapua – David Welch Fest committee chair and Shaun Maclaren liaison from KASK Committee

9. Any matters those present wish to raise for the Committee to consider during the year, or clarifications about agenda items?

It was suggested that connection in the regions could be strengthened. It is the Committee intention that the Regional Ambassadors take on this role.

Signed by Ian McKenzie Committee member, AGM chair

Date: 16 February 2023